It’s not about content it’s about learning to learn whatever you want

This week at the Global Citizen Festival, Michelle Obama encouraged concert goers to take selfies and share them with something they learned in school with the hash tag #62milliongirls. This effort is to spread awareness for the 62 Million Girls Campaign.

Let Girls Learn

Let Girls Learn is a U.S. government-wide initiative launched by the President and First Lady that seeks to help the more than 62 million girls around the world who are not in school– half of whom are adolescent – go to school and stay in school. These girls have diminished economic opportunities and are more vulnerable to HIV/AIDS, early and forced marriage, and other forms of violence. Yet, when a girl receives a quality education, she is more likely to earn a decent living, raise a healthy, educated family, and improve the quality of life for herself, her family, and her community.

A key part of Let Girls Learn is to encourage and support community-led solutions to reduce barriers that prevent adolescent girls from completing their education.

62 million girls michelle obama

I can relate with Michelle Obama’s tweet. I can’t say for sure, but I think that going to an all girls college helped my confidence and I wonder if I would have had the same experience at a co-ed school.

This is my tweet:

62 million girls tweet

I don’t remember much about what I actually learned in school, but I learned how to find and utilize any information that I need to do anything I need to do. I can’t pinpoint the time that I really started to believe in improving education, but I always believed in telling the truth and that all kids deserve a great education. I want them to have more guidance than I had, better teachers, and more hope than I had in school. I feel like college gave me those tools to learn how to gain the information and knowledge I need to be successful – its about process, not content. That’s what I want kids to learn – how to do great things, so that when they are ready, they will know what to do!

Leave a Reply

